My name is Cupid. Well, the Romans called me Cupid—the Greeks called me Eros. I’m the God of desire and affection, and tend to get really busy around this time of year. I know I may look like I’m a kid, but if I may offer you some business advice? I made the mistake of going in with Saint Valentine on a business venture back in Rome. The deal was, he would get all the credit for the holiday, but I would get to be the face. What this “deal” translated to was actually, “Cupid, you are going to do all of the work, and I’m going to take all the credit.” I should have had my lawyers look over the contracts. I’m not saying I hate my job, I’m just saying it would be nice to have modern American health coverage worked into my contract. Ancient Roman health care is a joke.

But I digress, Valentine’s Day is coming up, and I’ve been traveling around campus doing some PR work for the Women’s Outreach Center’s “Pink and Black Ball” on Feb. 12th. I’ve had the opportunity to meet with numerous gorgeous groups of OU students, spreading love, throwing candy, and perfecting my skipping technique. For those of you that I haven’t spoken to yet, let me tell you a little bit about the ball. The University of Oklahoma Pink & Black Ball will take place on Saturday, February 12th from 8pm to midnight in the Molly Shi Boren ballroom of the Union. There will be food, dancing, a raffle, a CHOCOLATE FOUNTAIN (my idea), and maybe even a few surprises. Tickets are $15 in advance, or $20 at the door. Every dollar you spend will go straight to Susan G. Koman for the Cure. This event will be semi-formal (I’m going to wear a bow tie), and alcohol free. “But Cupid, what kind of music will be there?” Well, inner monologue, there will be both a live jazz band, AND a DJ. In the span of 4-hours, you will get to swing dance AND fist pump.

Sound interesting? If so, head on over to http://www.ou.edu/pinkandblackball/ and get your tickets before they sell out! I hope to see you all there… nay, I would LOVE to see you all there. Look for me, I’ll be the kid with wings teaching people how to Dougie in the middle of the dance floor.

 

